top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureHan Choi

Game Project (My work)

Updated: Jun 27, 2023


For our group project we decided to make a game based around environmental issues. The game that we are making is about a trio of sea creatures exploring the waste/plastic filled ocean.


For the game we came up with the name: Aquatic Apocalypse since we thought it would be a sensible choice for a name.


As for the making of the game we set out self's separate tasks to do, Josiah would be doing work based around the more programming side while Harper would be creating character art, I would be focusing my work based around The game backgrounds and concepts while Aria will help out with a few things.


First I started with creating background 1. The group decided that

the first background should be clear open water.













I started doing a concept sketch of the background 1.





Once the concept sketch was completed, I exported the sketch into Photoshop by taking a photo of the sketch. I then chose the colours by using the mood board as inspiration and proceeded to illustrate the sketch.



This was the result.



Soon after, I decided to create Background 2. Background 2 was going to still be based about the ocean however this time it would include more objects such as shipwrecks.



We first started piecing another Mood board more based around shipwrecks while also trying to keep the same colour scheme as the previous mood board.







I then used the mood-board to create the concept sketch.




The concept sketch was exported into photoshop were I coloured in the sketch. I mostly used the same colour scheme as Background 1 except for the shipwrecks were I used a more brown colour.






I then started creating the concept of background 3, which was the Submarine. To do this task, I first started piecing up a mood board to generate some ideas.






With the mood board complete, I used the images there to make my own version of the submarine. I first used regular paper to stetch out the art and then just like before, I exported it into photoshop to illustrate.









I used a more cold colour scheme to illustrate because I wanted to capture a more abandoned feel to the background. I also used this colour scheme to indicate that environment is based around a cold place.



With the concept background 3 complete, I moved on to the concept background 4: The cave. For this background I decided to use a more greyish colour scheme since it matched the colour of regular caves.


To do this, I resembled a mood board based around caves.





I then used the ideas provided from the mood board to mock up a simple sketch. I added in platforms in the sketch however I decided to remove them when illustrating the background in photoshop.






I stuck with the colour grey for the background 4, not only because it was the colour of caves, but it also helped to create a empty atmosphere in which I thought was needed in the game project.






And for the last of the concept background art I did another cave however it would be highly different than the background 4 (regular cave) as it would carry a serious end-game tone to it.

I searched up a few images where it would help me come up with ideas for the final art.

Deep cave mood board:






Using the mood board, I decided to create the sketch for the final concept background: Background 5, the deep cave.








I added a sharper feel to it to represent a danger feeling to the background then I chose the green colour scheme to represent the plastic waste and contaminated water.




Since the concept backgrounds were finished, I decided to complete some character concept art to add to the project.


I sketched out multiple of the characters and enemies that would most likely be in the game. This was done after I had resembled my character inspiration mood board.



Character Mood board



Character concept ideas



After the concept art was finished, I used the mood board to create a character which would be in the game.



The character I made is a common Lobster which would be used as a common enemy in the game. The reason why it has splotches of dark green colour is because I wanted to represent that the Character has been infected with some plastic disease.


After the illustration, I made a sprite sheet for the Lobster so it could have an animation inside the game.



I then started off the deep cave tile sheet. I made a wide range of designs to help with the level platform.





Soon after the tile sets, I started working on my Logo Design. I went with a more simplistic yet unique style to the logo.



While doing the logo, I also started my Idea Capture sheet To further describe the game project that we were working on.






Final Backgrounds For Game


After figuring out all the tile sizes and character movement, we had to come up with the final backgrounds. The final backgrounds were going to be more detailed but mainly much larger in size. This was to make it fit perfectly in the game.


I mostly remade and improved my previous backgrounds while working in 1280 x 280 size.


Ocean Background remake





shipwreck final background





Final background for submarine






Final Cave background







Final Cave background




Game Package


Once finishing the game packaging designs, I printed it on thicker card paper and assembled the package.








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page