top of page
  • Writer's pictureHan Choi

Project animation ( Little chibli )

Updated: Feb 9, 2023


For the Final Animation I decided to create a Frame by Frame 2D animation based around the 1989 Studio Ghibli Totoro film.

The reason why I chose this Film as inspiration was because I wanted to focus on the animation fundamentals, Squash and Stretch and the characters there expressed those movements very well.


A another reason why I picked this film as my key inspiration was because I enjoyed the bright vibrant nature backgrounds and wanted to do the same to my project animation.



Backgrounds in Totoro






For the characters in my animation, I used the little chibli Totoro ( White totoro) and the original Totoro as my main characters.













For the animation I used the animation/painting app, Procreate. I edited the app into animation assist where I could use multiple animation features such as onion skin and moving layers.


Once the app was put into animation assist, I began animating Frame by Frame, I started by creating a 1920 x 1080 canvas which supported up to 125 layers. I also made the Frames per second by 8.


First I started off by drawing a simple oval outline to ensure the character's shape would remain consistent throughout the animation. Then I started to animate the ovals to move in a animatic way.

After the oval shape was set in place and the movements were complete, I then proceeded to draw the out line of the character. Once the line art was done, I then used the colour tool to add colour to my character animation.










To make the animation more organised, I split the animation into 5 Scenes.



SCENE 1

In scene 1, the white totoro is shown to approach a mushroom and proceeds to try and remove it from the ground. I chose to animate this scene because I wanted to start of my animation in a more entertaining way where my character is portrayed as clumsy and innocent.





SCENE 2

I decided to make a quick scene about the little totoro jumping his way back to the mushroom. The reason for this scene was because I wanted to experiment the squash and stretch further on my character.




SCENE 3

For this scene, it shows my character struggling to pull a mushroom across the screen. I made this mainly to make my animation more entertaining and to show more expression in my character.





SCENE 4

In the fourth scene I illustrated the larger totoro to be sleeping. I then animated the smaller one to jump repeatedly on the large totoro until the large totoro flings it away. This scene was done for further entertainment and show my skill in digital illustration.




SCENE 5

This scene was done to slow down and close the story.





After attaching the scenes together and adding the background music, this was the end result.









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page