top of page
  • Writer's pictureHan Choi

Arnold Robot Project

Updated: Nov 6, 2023



I first started by downloading the Arnold-robot.ma file from teams B2 Maya project. Once downloaded, I opened up the files from OneDrive. Automatically the files were loaded onto Maya and the Arnold robot was presented.



I first created the lights to light the robot. I went to the Arnold icon, Clicked lights then selected triple area lights. Each light surrounded the robot, I renamed the lights to 'right light' 'left light' and 'top light'. Then I opened the light attributes to set the lights to 4000 due to make the light project the robot in a warmer hue.


For the texture of the robot, I added a metallic hue with the settings to 1. I also used the ai to shade the robot through standard shader. This gave the robot a slight shiny surface along with curtain areas shaded. However the metallic textures were applied unevenly, due to this I have to hold Right and apply to all areas.


to check the lightings I went to Arnold Render view. this showed me an preview of how the robot would be lightened. At first the scene was too dark as the area lights were to close together, I had to space the out to get a reasonable lighting on the robot.



The lighting on the robot turned out reasonably well. The metallic hue gave the robot a more appropriate surface for the light to bounce off on. The warmer side of the lighting gave off an orange hue while the cooler side secured the robot a more metallic texture.




The Finished Arnold Render












0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page