top of page
  • Writer's pictureHan Choi

Chess-piece Blog


Creating the chess-pieces:



Pawn: By creating a cylinder and setting the subdivision caps to 0 and Axis to 10, I selected the face and extruded using the blue arrow to extrude upwards. Extrude > Blue arrow > R.



I used the extrude along with the chess-piece guide to create the body of the prawn. For the head I used a simple scaled down sphere and merged the body and the head together.


This is the finished result.




Rook Piece:


I used the same process for the rook as I did with the prawn, I extruded using a cylinder however this time by setting the subdivisions higher, I was able to select and extrude the head upwards to form a pattern.




King Piece:


Setting the cylinder I extruded by selecting the front face. Extrude> Blue arrow> Pull> R.

Doing this along with using the chess image as a guide, this was my result.




Queen Piece:


Unlike the King, I used an EP curve tool for modelling the queen and bishop. I entered Side view using the spacebutton so that my EP curve tool would work and then I traced around the queen in the image. I then used revolve which generated the full body of the queen.



Bishop Piece:


I used the EP curve tool to trace around the image of the bishop. I then used revolve to generate the bishop.




Horse Piece:


Unlike the bishop, The horse had to be combined with two modells. Using the EP curve tool I created the base of the horse, while moving its center in place using the shortcut D. For the head and body, I extruded by using the same process as the pawn.




Chess-board modell


I first created a cube, then set the X scale to 24, Y scale to 0.4, and Z scale to 24. This created a flat board where I then clicked edit mesh> add divisions.




Shaded Render:


After completing my chess-pieces along with my chess board I decided to create a new scene to combine all the work I finished into a final modell. Once I have set all my pieces in order, I then added texture to the pieces. I used phong as my base and then coloured the pieces in a simple white and black. I added the Sky light for the lighting and rendered the pieces.











3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page