top of page
  • Writer's pictureHan Choi

David Carson/ Typography

Updated: Nov 4, 2022

David Carson is an American graphics designer who played a major role in the Grunge Typography movement. He was born in 1955 September 8, and still works in the graphics design industry.


David Carsons typography art is seen in a very messy and order-less manner.


The themes of his art are sometimes based around death, this is because we can see his art involving dead artists such as Andy Warhol. His work consists of bright colours such as yellow and blue, however he does also use richer colours such as red to represent death and violence.


David Carsons Typography is often seen as chaotic; however, it can be also seen as loud. This is because of the use of the Capital letters he uses in his art.

Overall, the chaotic style of his typography makes

David Carson's art unique.










MY STUDY


This is a study piece about David Carson. I used the type text tool to type the letters, then I rotated and enlarged the letter to fit and resemble my portrait.


I used photoshop as my main base to start, I positions the letters to make it look like it was connected and balancing, the reason why I did this was because many of David Carsons typography is curved or tilted.




TYPOGRAFPHY STUDY



This is a study of photoshop typography I did. I used a dark blue and light blue gradient as my background.


I copied and pasted a lyric of a known song, Then I used warp and distort on my portrait to make the words wrap around my face.


I made my portrait black before adding the text, I did this to make the text wrap around my face easier.











4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page