top of page
  • Writer's pictureHan Choi

Julian Opie

Updated: Nov 3, 2022


Julian Opie is a pop artist who creates portraits on people.

born in 1958, London. Julian Opie is well known in the pop art industry who uses a minimalistic style to create his portraits. His work is focused on paintings and 3D sculptures.


Julian Opie uses flat but bold colours to create his paintings and work. His colours tend to be bold to stand out which makes his portraits appear stronger.


He uses thick and consistent dark lines which gives the portraits a bolder look. The meaning behind his work is to show more awareness into the present world.


Julian Opie's art tends to feel simplistic and occasionally lifeless.

This is because his paintings are done in a minimalistic way. Many people will like the style of Julian Opie however some will dislike the art due to it being too lifeless.



MY STUDY



This is a study I did aboutJulian Opie. i used my portrait photo as a reference to create this study.


In the study I used many features that belong to Julian Opie's art. One of the things I did was to make the eyes in my portrait look like the eyes in Julian Opie's art. The reason why I did this was because I think that the eyes are the most recognisable in Opie's work.
























10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page